Tidepools in Watercolor

Tidepools in Watercolor

Dates: Wednesdays, May 15-June 5, 2024
Time: 10:00 AM-12:00 PM Pacific Time, 1:00-3:00 PM Eastern Time, 6:00-8:00 PM London Time
Critique Sessions: Tuesdays, May 21-June 11, 1 PM Pacific, 4 PM Eastern/9 PM London Time
Level: All
Medium: Watercolor & gouache

One of the most diverse ecosystems happens right along the coast. A large number of fascinating marine plant and animals species thrive in these unique environments. Many are wonderfully strange in form and brightly colorful, perfect for nature illustrating. In this 4 week course, we will explore tide pool critters: barnacles, sea anemones, sea stars, nudibranchs and more, while learning various watercolor and gouache techniques. Lecture, demonstrations and in-class participation, along with homework assignments and a separate critique sessions will allow students to explore water media painting and gain mastery while celebrating tide pool diversity.

Materials:

Palette - to store and mix colors. Plastic with covers -
See Jack Richeson, Creative Mark or Masterson
palettes/covers

Paints: Watercolors in tubes - Daniel Smith, Winsor &
Newton, or Holbein Suggested colors - we can work
with whatever you have on your palette. But a few
colors to entice you:
French Ultramarine Blue
Cerulean Blue
Quinacridone Gold Cadmium Yellow
Azo or Lemon Yellow
Transparent Orange or Hansa Yellow
Deep Mineral Violet
Alizarin Crimson
Rose of Ultramarine
Leaf Green (Holbein)
Quinacridone Burnt Orange
Sap Green
Cascade Green
Burnt umber or Van Dyke Brown
Indigo

Phthalo Blue (Green Shade) or Peacock (Holbein)


Paper:
140 # cold press or hot press- any high quality brand:
Arches, Saunders Waterford, Fabriano Artistico. Full
sheets (22 x 30 inches) can be cut into smaller pieces
(most economical); or watercolor blocks 9” x 12”. I’ll
be demonstrating on both cold and hot press papers.
Mounting board: if using watercolor sheets Artist’s tape

Brushes:
We can work with whatever you have. During the class,
I’ll introduce brushes you may not be familiar with.

Pointed rounds - #8, #10, or #12 - any good quality
synthetic, or hair/sable. Rigger brush or small detail
brush for fine lines

2 water containers - large yogurt containers work well

Towels: either a roll of paper or old cloth rags

Event Information

Event Date 05-15-2024
Event End Date 06-05-2024
Individual Price $295.00
Location Winslow Art Center

Subscribe for News & Announcements

Receive our latest workshop announcements and related news, delivered to your inbox.

Copyright © 2024 Cynthia Armstrong Art. All Rights Reserved.